Everything You Need to Know About Gluten-Free Pizza

The gluten-free diet is trending, and if you are one among them, you will probably be looking for gluten-free alternatives. However, going gluten-free doesn’t mean you have to give up your favorite foods, including pizzas. You may wonder how pizza comes into the gluten-free category because, without wheat, pizza may not taste good.

Of course, pizza crust is traditionally made with wheat flour to attain the irresistible spongy texture. You may not be able to stop by your local pizza shop to grab a slice of that deep dish or Chicago style pizza, but you could try gluten-free pizzas. Yes, gluten-free pizza does exist, and it is a delicious, authentic pizza alternative. In fact, many pizza places in Surry Hills offer delicious gluten-free pizzas.

How is gluten-free Pizza made?

Gluten-free pizza is made with a combination of gluten-free flours and starches of almond flour, rice flour, potato starch, and tapioca starch, olive oil, salt, sugar, xanthan gum, and calcium sulphate. The crust has less than 20 parts per million of gluten.

While the gluten-free ingredients are used, the preparation techniques differ from one place to another.  Some may use a standard dough method where you could combine the flour with liquid and rising agent, while others make a batter. However, unlike traditional pizza, gluten-free pizza crust is baked before topping.

Since the pizza is made with various flours and starches, it gives the crust the same texture of a traditional pizza. When it comes to the taste, the flavour is much the same as traditional pizza. Only the dough differs so you could enjoy all the toppings offered at the pizza restaurant. You could try different combinations to really ramp up your flavour profiles.

 Fortunately, Made in Italy, a pizza restaurant in Surry Hills, have found several ways to create delicious pizzas that use gluten-free crusts. Many gluten-free pizza eaters don’t find the difference and order the same for the whole family so everyone can enjoy the same meal.

Are Pizza toppings gluten-free?

Most of the toppings that come from vegetable and fruit sources are gluten-free. However, some meats and processed items are not. Pizza places that offer gluten-free options offer gluten-free toppings that could be added to pizzas.

Here is a list of different toppings you can use:-

Vegetables

  • Black and green olives
  • Garlic
  • Tomatoes
  • Onions
  • Hot peppers
  • Spinach
  • Artichokes
  • Green and red peppers
  • Pineapple

Cheeses

  • Mozzarella and smoked mozzarella
  • Gorgonzola
  • Provolone
  • Cheddar
  • Feta

Meats

  • Bacon, pancetta, and back bacon
  • Lamb
  • Italian sausage
  • Chicken
  • Ham and prosciutto
  • Salami
  • Shrimp

However, the topping options differ from one place to another. You could ask if you are ever in doubt.

If you’re looking for the best gluten-free pizza delivery in Surry Hills, look no further than Made in Italy.

Reply